new moon rising . . .

A special thank you to Jenny Ward Angyal and Mary Frederick Ahearn for their lovely moon tanka (below) in celebration of my recent birthday.

the self
I’ve clung to
all these years
moonlight
on water

          –Jenny Ward Angyal
         Skylark 1:1, Summer 2013

backing out
of a dream
to find
just the moon
at my side

     –Mary Frederick Ahearn

I love them both, so I had to put their names in a hat to determine who would receive a book of poetry from me; the winner–via my husband’s random draw–is Mary. (Please email your address to me and I’ll post a 2015 Texas Poetry Calendar to you, Mary.)

In addition, I’m posting the two following moon-related haiku I ran across while I was visiting Miriam Sagan’s wonderful blog (Miriam’s Well) recently. Both are included in Miriam’s new book–a call and response conversation titled dream that is not a dream, featuring Sagan and the late Elizabeth Searle Lamb’s haiku.

A fascinating project, dream that is not a dream was born out of Sagan’s friendship with Lamb’s daughter and executor, and contains Sagan’s responses to Lamb’s previously unpublished haiku (which came to light after her death). I can’t wait to receive my copy, which can be ordered through Red Moon Press. In the meantime, here’s a sampling:

dreaming the dream
that is not a dream moonlight
in the dreamcatcher

     –Elizabeth Searle Lamb

moonlight on snow crust
dark trunks of trees
New Year’s dream

     –Miriam Sagan

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Moon, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to new moon rising . . .

  1. Adelaide says:

    Glad to learn about Miriam Sagan’s blog. I’ll be checking it out again.

    A belated Happy Birthday and Congratulations to the two winners with the moon tanka.’

    Adelaide

  2. Mary says:

    Thank you so very much! And also for the information about Miriam’s Well and “dream that is not a dream.” This is only one of the things I love about your blog – the sharing and community. So thanks again. And a thanks to Adelaide too!
    [I did send you an email off the “About me” page – hope you received it. 🙂 ]

  3. Mike says:

    I am suitably entertained and informed – thank you.

Leave a comment