anthology fever . . .

what made me
reach to hold this stranger’s face
between my hands . . .
his poet eyes seeing all
my days today tomorrow

Bright Stars Anthology vol. 4, 2014

For the first time in many years, the Tanka Society of America is putting together an anthology of members’ tanka, edited by Atlas Poetica‘s M. Kei. It hasn’t been released yet, but I’m eager to read the selected tanka. (The Haiku Society of America is putting together a similar anthology of members’ haiku, which also should be released shortly.) In the meantime, M. Kei asked if I’d agree to have the above tanka published in his Bright Stars anthology. Here’s another one that appears in that new series:

trying hard
to look on the bright side
this moonless night . . .
I wonder which star to choose
for luck, love, happiness, life

Bright Stars vol. 4, 2014

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to anthology fever . . .

  1. …which star to choose…..I choose Margaret…..

  2. sanjuktaa says:

    Always love your poetry…

  3. Mike says:

    Congratulations on being chosen for the publication – you do elegant work.

  4. Adelaide says:

    I love the first tanka. It reminded me of when I met the young man who later became my husband.

  5. janetld says:

    Thanks for sharing your lovely, bright work here.

    J.

  6. wabi sabi says:

    I loved the first one.It reminds me of a patient I took care of … a long time ago. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

