My most beautiful thing . . .

I grew up on the Oklahoma plains, but I never felt part of it until I moved away.  Then I realized that the place I came from is like my people.  Wild and raw and expansive.  With long horizon lines and dust-filled skies that turn the sunsets into rivers of light.  Ugly and beautiful.  Dangerous and tame.  Alive.

late autumn
the buffalo’s shadow moves
through the tall grass

 (My Most Beautiful Thing “blogsplash” celebrates Fiona Robyn’s new novel, The Most Beautiful Thing.)

 

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haibun, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, National Poetry Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My most beautiful thing . . .

  1. Jim Sullivan says:

    Very beautiful. I like this one a lot. Two months ago I finished the book The Worst Hard Time about the dust bowl in the 1930’s. Now that was bleak.

    Sully

  2. Eden says:

    Elegant contrasts…. Sometimes the most beautiful thing is the loss that makes us richer. Thank you, Margaret

  3. Yousei Hime says:

    I’ve come to realize something similar about where I grew up. I never thought I’d treasure it like I do. Perspective with time and experience. Thank you for sharing this.

  4. alee9 says:

    Oh, this is so evocative, mi hermana! It so tugs at my own heartstrings having left home in a rush, and now, drowning in a flood of nostalgia. Gracias!!!

  5. A beautiful haibun, Margaret! I’ve never really spent my time long enough in OK, but I have driven through it. Lots of plains, that’s for sure. Thank you for capturing such rustic beauty, especially with “buffalo’s shadow” in your haibun. By the way, I hope you don’t mind me featuring this entry on my blog. http://alotus-poetry.livejournal.com

    Blessings,

    Kathy

    • Thank you, Kathy. I’d be honored. I was kind of rushed to get something done for the “blogsplash,” but I think it turned out okay. Come check out the post tomorrow for “Poem in Your Pocket Day”; I’m featuring some favorite haiku . . .

  6. sanjuktaa says:

    What a gorgeous write, Margaret! It resonates with me so much… May I too (taking the cue from Kathy) feature it in my blog?

  7. A part of the world I’m completely unfamiliar with, love that I get a glimpse through this beautiful haiku.

Leave a comment