it’s that time again (for NaHaiWriMo) . . .

Ah, February . . . the shortest month but not the cruelest. This year, once again, I’m joining other haiku enthusiasts in the online challenge to create 28 (hopefully halfway decent) haiku from prompts provided by National Haiku Writing Month founder Michael Dylan Welch. And, once again, I’ll be trying my hand (with the help of online translators and my pocket Cassell’s) at translating my daily haiku into French for the NaHaiWriMo en français Facebook site led by the inimitable bilingual poet and artist Jessica Tremblay. (This year there’s even a new site for Bulgarian poets to share in the month-l0ng haiku frenzy.)

As many already know, the NaHaiWriMo site went viral a few years ago when participants decided they wanted to keep the daily prompts going year-round. But the site really soars in February when slackers (like me) return to the fold that has become a tight-knit group of writers willing to whet their haiku skills on the prompts MDW provides his fold. All month long, the prompts will, appropriately, center on words that start with the alphabet’s second letter “B”. Today’s word: “Banjo.” And here’s my first (of 28) responses:

bound for glory . . .                                        lié pour la gloire . . .
one last time he strums the strings            une dernière fois, il gratte les cordes
of his old banjo                                               de son vieux banjo

for “Pete”                                                       pour “Pete”

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, NaHaiWriMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to it’s that time again (for NaHaiWriMo) . . .

  1. …I am now “bound” to “whet” my appetite for “NaHaiWriMo”…you are the best “slacker” I know!….

  2. Mary Frederick Ahearn says:

    A nice tribute to Pete! He was an amazing soul, wasn’t he? Saw him in concert several times and it was always wonderful and uplifting. Beautiful energy, he is surely bound for glory.

  3. white blinded
    this banjo snowfall
    of February

    fun. i’m joining in too. i’m still not on facebook yet tho. so i’m likely to just write my own ku and post them when i post something. or. maybe you’ve tickled my wanna-go-see button and i’ll become more social or less reclusive. which ever that may be.

    yeah, i thought about a commemorative stamp for Pete. it may still happen. or not. the planet is better (imo) as a result of his having been here. speed on, Pete, and glory more.

    aloha Margaret. fun on your ku-ing thank you. aloha – rick

    • Hi, Rick! Glad you’re joining in the fun! Love “this banjo snowfall,” although I’m tired of snow right now.

      Ready to renga, though!

      • yeah, I hadn’t thought I’d use the prompts this year (I’m so disconnected anyway) then seeing just this one here, I realized how much the prompts take me out of my usual tracks. not only when I use them specifically but I then begin to think in that “beyond” way too. so. . . . I will see if I can pick up on them a little more than I thought I might.

        yeah, I liked that line too. now to keep up with the other two lines—then I might be able to break new ground under and above the snow as well.

        yeah, I can see why a lot of people may be thinking their snow quota is maxed out already.

        shall we aim at March 1st to each swap to the other one haiku? then see what we can come up with over the next week?? is a week too long? or too short?

        my understanding of tan renga is we (each) would come up with 2 lines to follow the haiku by the other. is that your understanding? and if not or if there is more, please elaborate for me.

        fun on. aloha.

        • Yes, maxed out on winter for certain here! Too cold!

          And, yes, March 1 sounds good. I’ll e-mail you soon and we can start an exchange. I think I’d like to try a sequence, as those “stand-alone” tan rengas always seem so lonely to me.

          Cheers, M.

Leave a Reply

