alphabet soup . . .

alphabet soup
I practice cradling love
in a stainless spoon

2nd Place, Robert Spiess Memorial 2013 Haiku Award

I am humbled and honored to have received recognition in Modern Haiku‘s annual Robert Spiess Memorial Haiku Competition. Named for the journal’s beloved second editor, the contest asks entrants to write a poem in response to one of Spiess’ haiku “speculations.”  You can read more about the contest, as well as the judges’ commentaries on this year’s award recipients, at the link above.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Modern Haiku and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to alphabet soup . . .

  1. Congratulations, Margaret!
    Great to see New Zealand’s Ernie Berry there as well as you, in the top two. It’s that, “Aw, cool, I know them!” feeling. 🙂

  2. Adelaide says:

    Congratulations!

    Adelaide

  3. sanjuktaa says:

    Huge congrats, Margaret! Proud of you, proud to be your friend!

  4. Janet L. D. says:

    wonderful – congrats!

  5. Wonderful haiku and congratulations!

  6. Hi Margaret,

    I enjoyed this piece a lot after stumbling across it while looking for examples of “recipe haiku.” I’d like to reprint it in THF’s Haiku Per Diem for July of 2014, which I am editing around that topic. Can you send me an e-mail and let me know if you’d be interested? I have more details about the Per Diem project but it’s wordy and I don’t want to spam your blog. 🙂

    Thanks!
    Stewart

Leave a Reply

