internet sightings . . .

The March issue of A Hundred Gourds is out, and, with it, tanka editor Susan Constable has given readers a close look into the work of tanka poet Kozue Uzawa. Uzawa, who emigrated to Canada from Japan in 1971, edits Tanka Canada’s journal Gusts.

In her article, Constable features several selections from Uzawa’s book-length collection of tanka, I’m a Traveler. It’s always a pleasure to be able to read several of a poet’s tanka in one location, and Constable’s response to Uzawa’s work adds even more insight into the experience. Here is one of my favorites of the cited poems:

in the summer sky
shooting stars appear
one after another
I have so many
wishes to make

You can read the entire article for yourself by following this link.

More doings in cyberspace include Aubrie Cox’s most recent “doodleku” challenge, which she’s hosting throughout the remainder of this month on her Yay Words! blog. Each day Aubrie provides a different “doodle” as a prompt her readers can respond to with a short poem. As in the past, several of the poems–and all of the drawings–will be collected into one of Aubrie’s brilliant PDF collections.

Last but not least, there’s a new short-form journal edited by haiku luminary an’ya called kernels starting up. Planned as a quarterly showcase of haiku, haibun, tanka and haiga, kernels will launch its inaugural issue on April 17 in honor of National Poetry Month’s official “Haiku Day.” Submissions are being accepted through the end of March.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in A Hundred Gourds, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, National Poetry Month, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to internet sightings . . .

  1. Dear Margaret, Thank you. Ellen

  2. Thanks for this. Just had two haiku accepted by Kernels!

    Loved your poem on Tinywords by the way 🙂

  3. Janet L. D. says:

    I enjoyed Susan’s interview of Kozue too. And thanks for the updates about the doodleku challenge and an’ya’s new online journal, kernels, which I’m quite looking forward to seeing!

Leave a Reply

