heat lightning . . .

heat lightning the way your hand rests on mine

tinywords, 12.1,  November 2012

I wrote this one-line (monostich) poem back in August for NaHaiWriMo’s Facebook page in response to Pris Campbell’s prompt for haiku that dealt with “heat”–

Wait . . . , you say you don’t know what NaHaiWriMo (National Haiku Writing Month) is?  It’s a community of poets who participate in the online practice of writing daily haiku thanks to haiku poet extraordinaire Michael Dylan Welch, who came up with the idea of hosting a Facebook page for just such an effort as an alternative to National Novel Writing Month (which, by the way, if you don’t know is quickly coming to its annual close as wordsmiths who’ve taken the pledge to dedicate their efforts to cranking out the draft of a novel in November scramble to cross the 50,000-word finish line).

Back to NaHaiWriMo . . . MDW as he’s known in haiku circles–in order to economize on both syllables and words–launched his much-condensed version of NaNovWriMo back in February 2011.  The thing was it became such a success none of the participants wanted it to stop after one short (the shortest) month.  As a result, NaHaiWriMo is now a month-in/month-out phenomena that continues to attract and inspire haiku enthusiasts throughout the world.

And back to the August prompt: “heat.”  When I wrote my response to Pris’ prompt, I did not realize that MDW planned to produce an anthology based on selected haiku resulting from the daily prompts suggested by 31 different prompters.   But that is what, much to my surprise and delight, happened.  The resulting PDF anthology, With Cherries on Top, appeared on my virtual doorstep the same day that my”heat” monostich showed up in this month’s edition of tinywords.  Talk about synchronicity!

I’m pleased to have two other haiku selected for MDW’s anthology, which, by the way, he has very generously put together in a stunning downloadable file that you, too, can access free of charge with a click of a button.  I encourage you to do so . . . .  It’s absolutely chock-full of delicious selections of haiku written by an amazing community of haiku poets that I have come to know and (virtually, at least) love.

Thank you, Michael, for all of your enthusiasm and hard work in making haiku accessible to so many.  And, thank you, Peter Newton of tinywords, for featuring my haiku on such a lovely online journal!

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Lightning, Monostich, NaHaiWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to heat lightning . . .

  1. I had picked up on your wave of synchronicity there, which I’m sure created some heat lightning somewhere on Earth! 😉 Congratulations on your ‘ku! “With Cherries on Top” is fabulous! So proud to be part of it with you and all the other NaHaiWriMo-ers. Bring on February 2013 . . .

  2. Adelaide says:

    I’ve downloaded Cherries on Top. I’m happy to learn about it. I knew about NaiHaiWriMo, but haven’t participated because I don’t want to sign up to Facebook. Congratulations on your haiku.
    Adelaide

    • I’m glad you discovered the download, Adelaide. I hope you enjoy it . . . Thank you for visiting, and for your comments. Congratulations as well on you recent work in the new A Hundred Gourds. Best, Margaret

Leave a Reply

