all legs and arms . . .

 

all legs and arms
. . . this wraith of a girl
not much more than
the thin slice of lightning
that encircles her still

A Hundred Gourds, vol. 1, no. 4, September 2012

Don’t forget I’m still accepting small poems and haiga–previously published or otherwise–for my Day of the Dead Post.  The deadline for submissions is midnight, Friday, Oct. 26, and you can send them to me here in a comment; or, for haiga and pictures, I’ll e-mail you with further instructions.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in A Hundred Gourds, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to all legs and arms . . .

  1. Jim Sullivan says:

    Now that is a good tanka, Margaret. I like it a lot. Lightning is everything.

    I am working on something for your day of the dead. But I celebrate a celtic halloween. Here is a brief description: “The festival observed at this time was called Samhain (pronounced Sah-ween). It was the biggest and most significant holiday of the Celtic year. The Celts believed that at the time of Samhain, more so than any other time of the year, the ghosts of the dead were able to mingle with the living, because at Samhain the souls of those who had died during the year traveled into the otherworld.”

    • Thank you, Sully! So good to hear from you! Hope you are well . . .

      Do send me something for my DoD post! In the meantime, I love learning about Samhain . . . Is it on our traditional Halloween?

  2. sanjuktaa says:

    This is wonderful, Margaret…i love it! And congratulations on your 2nd place in annual shiki kukai. That was a deserving one.

    I’d have loved to participate in your DoD post…but just going through a dry spell lately. I know you’ll understand.

Leave a Reply

