early spring . . .

 

Rick Daddario’s September 22 “30 Days of Haiga”  prompt is “autumn/spring beginnings.” I chose “spring,” because I already had this haiga I made from a shot of my beautiful tree peony.  It’s the earliest flowering shrub in my garden, and, although I have to coddle it along with blankets and sheets during late frosts when the buds have set, the effort is always worth it when it erupts into saucer-sized blooms of brilliant fuchsia.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Flowers, Haiga, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Spring and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to early spring . . .

  1. jornales says:

    Stunning, mi hermana!!! What wonderful care you must have showered on these lovely peonies. Thanks for sharing them.

  2. aloha Margaret – i like this a lot. great ku. i really like “the news at my doorstep” that is a beautiful line. and together with the first line it makes a great match up with the image.

    one thing i’ve noticed i like a lot in haiga. or maybe i’m beginning to appreciate more and more, is the ease in which i can read the ku so it’s easy to go back and forth between the ku and the image. there are several ways to make letters easier to see in a work like this one just as you have it with a little tweaking. i dont know if you can do a lot of tweaking or not? in which case, yeah, i understand that. or if that is something you intentionally dont want to do (in which case cool on that too).

    on the other hand if you can do more tweaking would like some suggestions i’d be glad to see if i can make some – let me know. this is one thing i’ve been working on in my haiga (i still muck it up often enough) – but because i’m trying hard in mine i’m now noticing what others do.

    your name being subtle is fine (imo). it’s there and can be read if someone wants to or needs too yet it’s easy to pass over it to focus on the ku and image – which is again why i have begun to value the easier reading of the ku in the haiga itself.

    i like too btw – the shape – format of the haiga. it’s fun to use non-standard dimensions sometimes. i think i do that often enough that i probably have a group of them that fit that non-standard category. cool on that.

    fun and delight on this haiga – aloha.

    • Thanks, Rick. I appreciate your insights and suggestions. Since I don’t do much haiga, I know I have a lot to work on technically. I’ve gotten more adept at the program I work with (Picture It), but it has its limitations. Some factors seem to have to do with re-sizing; often when I try to resize the photo, it messes up the way the font appears or vice versa. If I get into this more, I’d probably do well to find another program. Suggestions?

      Best, M.

Leave a Reply

