September morning . . .

Six months after the 9/11 attacks of 2001, I had the chance to visit the temporary memorial wall at the Twin Towers site in New York City with a dear friend of mine. That day, I snapped several pictures in order to remember not just the fragility of life but also its capacity for hope and resilience.  The picture below, featuring one of the victims, James Francis Quinn, seemed to me to embody all of life’s paradoxes: both the strengths and weaknesses associated with being human.  Today, especially, is a day for recognizing and remembering what it means to be human.  It’s a day for remembering Jimmy Quinn . . . and all the other victims of 9/11.  It’s a day for remembering.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in 9/11, Haiga, Haiku, Haiku-doodle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September morning . . .

  1. aloha Margaret – your haiga brings home the impact of your words – and tears too. this is a moving tribute. thank you.

    i remember this day – i’m sure we all do. where i was and what i was doing when i picked up the phone call from a young friend who asked me if i knew what was happening. that’s when i learned. it was early in the morning for me. it was about the time the 2nd tower was hit.

    i have a cousin who was the chief of a fire department in colorado at that time. that day he happened to be in upstate new york picking up a new fire truck for his city. when he heard what was happening he didnt take his new truck back to colorado. he simply went down to NYC to help.

    your words are very helpful to remember. thank you. i also remember those still affected by the direct contact with those involved in this day as well as those who lost loved ones, friends and co-workers. we will not forget.

    and yes too. happy birthday Jimmy Quinn. every day. aloha.

    • Aloha, Rick, and thank you for your healing words. Such an emotional day and time. Your cousin, like so many other first responders, deserves all our thanks and prayers and acknowledgement that there are so so many people who rise to the occasion in crises, offering their services without having to be asked to do so. Like everyone in America, I too was racked with grief that day. And it still hurts, as all senseless acts of violence do, on so many levels.

      I left New York just a year before 9/11; at one point, I worked in the WTC. On my pilgrimage after 9/11, one of my best friends and I went down to the site to pay our respects to the victims. It was there that I met Jimmy Quinn . . . so yes, Happy Birthday to him. As you say, every day, aloha.

      Bless you, Rick.

  2. Jim Sullivan says:

    Great remembrance, Margaret. Great haigu and picture. Jimmy Quinn sure sounds like one of my cousins from Long Island but I know he is not.

    Our close call with 9/11 involved our son who had just taken a new job in New York City. In August his boss suggested that they both go to a financial software conference in September. The boss seemed to forget and they never went to the conference. It was on Sept 11th, the top floor of one of the twin towers. We still have the conference flyer. And on 9/11 morning we were frantic until we heard from him around 10 am. We are blessed.

    Sully

Leave a Reply

