Birthday tanka countdown . . .

 

Thank you to all who’ve added their lovely voices here and helped to make my birthday a real celebration.   There’s still time (a week!) to enter your tanka here for a chance to win a copy of Modern Japanese Tanka.   I’ll keep updating this post as the moon tanka roll in through July 20 for my birthday countdown . . .

I’d also like to thank my friend Rick Daddario for sending me one of his beautiful haiga birthday cards (click on the image to see a larger version) again this year!

Rick Daddario
19planets

all day long
moving words on paper
hunting
what I meant to say—
a hazy moon

Jenny Ward Angyal
Moonbathing 5, fall/winter 2011

the frenzied dance
of moths around the light
a crescent moon
invites me
to slow down

Cara Holman

the moon is slipping
wafer strands over bare trees
their summer dressing
scattered in orange and russet
the moon and I are sisters
we wax and wane in darkness

Yousei Hime

moon child
a different face
every evening
still you come
to my light

Merrill Ann Gonzalez

Why did my DNA
mutate . . .
pacing this shoreline
my answers come bathed
in healing moonlight

Kirsten Cliff

will he watch her
being naughty tonight
through the hole
in the bamboo shade
the man in the moon

Johnny Baranski

moon sparkle
on a dew drop
at dawn
the sound of
a birthday kiss

Angelo B. Ancheta

born to
a summer moon
always yours
to hold
a firefly’s light

Andrea Grillo

summer of ’78
a fallow field at dusk
our first kiss
a flash of dancing fireflies
under a waxing crescent moon

Linda Hofke

marimba moon
the wild woman
restrained
dances herself through
my goosed flesh

Terri L. French

thunder moon
rises over the water
louder and louder . . .
the music thrums
in my blood

Aubrie Cox

oh! waning moon
riding the dark blue night
my love can you see
underneath the starry skies
does she too search for me

“just another wake up call”

creeping
out of daylight
old moon–
have you returned for the eyes
you lost on hers?

Alegria Imperial

so bright
my reflection
in the car window
the moon
smiles back

Christina Nguyen

Bali moon
you drift in and out
my thoughts . . .
as if you have the right
to keep me mesmerized

Asni Amin

I rarely gaze
at the moon,
one thing in my life
I know
will never change

Janet Lynn Davis
Simply Haiku, Autumn 2006

at the end
of a lonely day
craving
the company of the moon
he’s a faithful man

Patricia Sullivan

chrysanthemum moon
i peel off another layer
of sorrow
that nobody
will notice

Pamela A. Babusci
A Thousand Reasons, 2009

milk moon
my bare feet on this
wood floor
if I walk to the edge
will I hear your voice?

Angie Werren

new summer moon
on your birthday the mystery
of life deepens
hidden among woodland blooms
the pathway to bold journeys

John Daleiden

summer dream . . .
under the moonlit sky
your soft whispers
telling me how much
you’ve missed me

Christine L. Villa

strangers before,
strangers after the night–
you leave no footprints
on sand, only the shimmer
of sea in amber moonlight

      Sanjukta Asopa

July moon
the aesthetics
of joy
so seamlessly I hold in
the name of your rugged lips

Ernesto P. Santiago

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Birthday, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

