Birthday bash giveaway . . .

fireworks
in a summer sky . . .
each year
the rose moon reminds me
of darkness and light

July is my birthday month, and since I like to celebrate my birthday all month long and since July is, astrologically speaking, ruled by the moon, I’m asking readers to post their “moon” tanka here (as a comment) between now and my birthday, July 20.  In exchange for this small indulgence, I’ll be awarding a copy of Makoto Ueda‘s Modern Japanese Tanka to my favorite tanka . . . or, if I can’t decide on a favorite (a distinct possibility), I’ll simply pull a name from my birthday hat–a battered but well-loved bonnet–to determine the winner.

P.S. I’m not the only birthday girl holding a tanka competition this month.  Check out Kirsten Cliff’s giveaway at her blog Swimming in Lines of Haiku.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Birthday, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Moon, Summer, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Birthday bash giveaway . . .

  1. Jenny Angyal says:

    Happy Birthday–and Birthday Month–Margaret! Here is my “moon” tanka:

    all day long
    moving words on paper
    hunting
    what I meant to say—
    a hazy moon

    Moonbathing 5, fall/winter 2011

  2. Cara Holman says:

    I’m so happy to share a birthday month with you and Kirsten. 🙂 Here’s a tanka I wrote and posted on Yay Words, for Aubrie Cox’s “I Doodle, You ‘Ku” Challenge back in March:

    the frenzied dance
    of moths around the light
    a crescent moon
    invites me
    to slow down

  3. Yousei Hime says:

    Happy, happy birthday. Here is my tanka present. 🙂

    the moon is slipping
    wafer strands over bare trees
    their summer dressing
    scattered in orange and russet
    the moon and I are sisters
    we wax and wane in darkness

  4. snowbirdpress says:

    moon child
    a different face
    every evening
    still you come
    to my light
    ~~Happy Birthday, Margaret… I based this tanka on a haiku I had accepted in Acorn awhile ago. I too am a moon child….:-)

  5. snowbirdpress says:

    This is going to be a wonderful gathering of moon children! Happy Birthday to each moon child!

    • Hi snowbird – did you post a tanka on my blog for my SILOH Tanka Contest? Received it but please also send through your name, country and email address so I can contact you if you win! Thanks 🙂

  6. Thanks for gathering us together for your July birthday, Margaret! 🙂
    Here’s my moon tanka:

    Why did my DNA
    mutate…
    pacing this shoreline
    my answers come bathed
    in healing moonlight

    Happy birthday, Margaret, and to all the July babies out there in haiku and tanka land! 🙂

  7. snowbirdpress says:

    With such wonderful tanka, I have a feeling Margaret is going to have to pick a winner from the hat! 🙂

  8. will he watch her
    being naughty tonight
    through the hole
    in the bamboo shade
    the man in the moon

  9. Angelo B. Ancheta says:

    Hi Margaret, Happy birthday in advance. Here’s my entry:

    moon sparkle
    on a dew drop
    at dawn
    the sound of
    a birthday kiss

  10. born to
    a summer moon
    always yours
    to hold
    a firefly’s light

    Happy birthdays Maggie, Merrill, Kirsten and all. This tanka is part of a longer poem for a beloved friend also born to a summer moon. My rising sign is Cancer so I too am very much influenced by the many moods of the moon. Andrea

  11. Pingback: July Blog Contests « Yay Words!

  12. Linda H. says:

    summer of `’78
    a fallow field at dusk
    our first kiss
    a flash of dancing fireflies
    under a waxing crescent moon

  13. marimba moon
    the wild woman
    restrained
    dances herself through
    my goosed flesh

    Happy Birthday. . .may you dance all month long! ; )

  14. Aubrie Cox says:

    thunder moon
    rises over the water
    louder and louder . . .
    the music thrums
    in my blood

    Happy early birthday, Maggie!

  15. hey maggie!
    Just noticed I repeated the ‘sky.’ Not sure how that works in tanka. Anyway want to change it to this

    oh! waning moon
    riding the dark blue night
    my love can you see
    underneath the starry skies
    does she too search for me

    am so thankful for ‘comment moderation’ – always a boon for people like me who think after they write 🙂 LOL

  16. I almost missed this, mi hermana!!! So lost am I in other spaces…but here is my gift: para mi querida hermana de mi alma con muchos carinos!!!

    creeping
    out of daylight
    old moon–
    have you returned for the eyes
    you lost on hers?

    …may he find it again! Haha…happy birthday! You know that it’s also my month a week after yours, though at the time of my birth, my moon was in your sun (Cancer), which explains our deep-as-the-seas connection, as well the sun-and-moon intrinsic oneness.

  17. so bright
    my reflection
    in the car window
    the moon
    smiles back

    Happy birthday, dear Maggie!

    ~ Tina

  18. A Walk In My Heart says:

    Hi Margaret! I’m new at this – and here it goes:

    Bali moon
    you drift in and out
    my thoughts …
    as if you have the right
    to keep me mesmerized

    Happy birthday in advance!

    Asni Amin

  19. JanetLD says:

    Happy July B-day, Maggie (and Cara and Kirsten and others)!

    I don’t happen to have many “moon” poems – but for fun, here’s an old one I remembered…Hope you don’t mind!

    I rarely gaze

    at the moon,

    one thing in my life
    
I know
    
will never change

    —Simply Haiku, Autumn 2006

  20. Patricia Sullivan says:

    at the end
    of a lonely day
    craving
    the company of the moon
    he’s a faithful man

    Happy Birthday, Margaret!

  21. pamela a. babusci says:

    chrysanthemum moon
    i peel off another layer
    of sorrow
    that nobody
    will notice

    Pamela A. Babusci
    A Thousand Reasons 2009

  22. angie werren says:

    happy, happy, margaret — hope it’s been a wonderful birthday month (so far!) for you!

    milk moon
    my bare feet on this
    wood floor
    if I walk to the edge
    will I hear your voice?

  23. daleidenj says:

    To Margaret Dornaus–may your birthday be filled with great joys.

    new summer moon
    on your birthday the mystery
    of life deepens
    hidden among woodland blooms
    the pathway to bold journeys

  24. I just want to share this with you, hoping it’s a tanka. I’m still a newbie. 🙂 I wrote it for The Collaborative Photo-Haiku Project http://tifholmesphotography.com/cphp/2012/07/july-2012-series-entry-15/

    summer dream . . .
    under the moonlit sky
    your soft whispers
    telling me how much
    you’ve missed me

    Advance happy birthday!

  25. sanjuktaa says:

    Hi Margaret, hope you are having a wonderful birthday! Here’s my moon tanka.

    strangers before,
    strangers after the night–
    you leave no footprints
    on sand, only the shimmer
    of sea in amber moonlight

    • Thank you, Sanjukta! I love your tanka! And, yes, a good birthday so far . . . Last night it rained–after month-long drought and heat. This morning, the elephant ears I potted outside my front door are holding the moisture on their leaves, and I remembered the absolutely beautiful poem of yours I read some time ago about the “colocasia” bowing their heads with rain. Stunning! Could you send it my way again, so I can re-read it?

      Oh, I found it here! So I’m going to re-post it now, for my birthday, because I love it!

      nowhere to go,
      no dream to dream,
      this afternoon
      only the murmur of rain
      on the colocasia

      –Sanjukta Asopa
      Ribbons, Fall 2011

      I can’t think of a better way to spend my birthday!

  26. July moon
    the aesthetics
    of joy
    so seamlessly I hold in
    the name of your rugged lips

    Ernesto P. Santiago

  27. sanjuktaa says:

    Thank you, Margaret. I am so glad you like that one and absolutely honored by your featuring it here!

    • You are most welcome, Sanjukta! I was very struck by that tanka when you sent it in for my Poetry Month post , and I had missed it when it appeared in Ribbons . . . , and you taught me the botanical name for elephant ears as well!

Leave a Reply

