Things with wings . . .

 

It’s hot here.  Very.  And dry.  More than dry.  It’s the kind of weather that wilts everything in the garden and makes me want to put my head down on my pillow and not come back up for air until, say, mid-September.  Desperate, despairing weather.  Any slight breeze is welcome, and that’s why Aubrie Cox’s latest collaborative venture “Things with Wings” is the best antidote to my midsummer depression around.

Aubrie, known in the haiku community as much for her generous spirit as for her impressive talent, frequently invites readers of her Yay Words! blog to contribute poems matched to either themes (foxes/dragons/lanterns) or, in this case, “doodles” that she has sketched with an eye toward collecting into a PDF anthology she shares with the world at large.  Her latest efforts have resulted in delightful pairings of her drawings with haiku from many of her faithful following.  I’m honored to have two of my poems paired up with her whimsical sketches (see one below), but, even if I weren’t represented there, I’d seek out this latest anthologized effort of hers for the sheer unmitigated joy found there.  Thank you, Aubrie.  I might be able to ride out this heat wave after all.  Yay Words!

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Aubrie Cox, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Things with Wings, Yay Words! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things with wings . . .

  1. Aubrie Cox says:

    Maggie, this post admittedly made me a tad teary. Summers, despite the sun, can definitely bring a body down. I’m so happy that “Things with Wings” could bring you some relief!

Leave a Reply

