Flower Children . . .

 

We trickle in before noon dressed in tie-dye and paisley.  Vests fringed with suede ribbons that sway in the breeze.  Crazy quilt jeans that accentuate the curve of hip, buttocks, thigh.  There are polka dots, feathers, headbands and beads.  Bell-bottoms drizzled with bleach to create the illusion of sun-kissed pin stripes.  And platform shoes that transform us all—male and female—into stilt walkers trained to reach for the sky.

The operator gives us buckets filled with long-stemmed carnations to sell for a dollar a piece.  The tips, he says, are ours to keep.  Paired off, we take our positions at curbside locations and wait.  All dressed up with nowhere to go.  We watch as the stream of motorists honks, slows down, speeds up.  Some wave; some whistle; others shake their fists or wag their fingers as they pass us by.

shattered blossoms turning their heads from the light

Multiverses, vol. 1, no. 1, June 2012

 

I am so very excited to have this haibun featured in the first issue of the new online journal, Multiverses, where the talented poet Melissa Allen is serving as haibun editor.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Flowers, Haibun, Haiku, Multiverses, Summer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Flower Children . . .

  1. snowbirdpress says:

    Congratulations! Thanks for the link.

  2. Sully says:

    Margaret, I meant to tell you how much I enjoyed this. It was a) reminiscent of an era, 2) I wondered how biographical it was and then settled on something in between, 3) I figured you got almost no tips, and 4) I enjoyed the clean good writing.

    I am doing some webmaster work for AHG and am seeing a lot of your new haiku. You are having a prolific year.

    Sully

    • Thanks, Sully! It was fun to write.

      Wondered what you’ve been up to lately . . . So, you’ve been recruited to help with AHG? Great news for them. I love that journal!

      Hope you’re well and happy. It’s dreadfully hot and dry here. But, this too, will pass.

      Best, M.

  3. Pingback: Haibun: Symbols of Meaning and Multiverses Online « A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2012

  4. Pingback: Green Haibun 1 | In Rhyme and Metre

  5. Pingback: Haibun ~ A Word-List – Prompt Words (4) List 1 – Work: Sympathy with the Moon « A 19 Planets Art Blog 2010/2012

Leave a Reply

