spring morning . . .

spring morning
your call arrives too late
for last rites–
still I hold the phone up
in case, just in case . . .

A Hundred Gourds, vol. 1, no. 3, June 2012

(I’m happy to have my work in the newest issue of A Hundred Gourds, which features the work of so many wonderful writers . . . including a special memorial haibun for poet Hortensia Anderson by Sheila Windsor.)

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in A Hundred Gourds, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to spring morning . . .

  1. Jim Sullivan says:

    Very nice tanka, Margaret. The interplay of now and late and new spring morning and last things and maybe still on the phone — a jumble of time. I like it.

    And you were lying low for a month with nothing going on. I count many haiku, several tanka, and a few haibun. Congratulations. I am still working my way thru the entries.

    Sully

    • Thanks, Sully. I’m happiest that Ron Moss did a sumi art haiga of one of my haiku, which was really neat, especially since I was able to print it out from my computer! I also love the way AHG is formatted, and how easy it is to get from page to page–or look up other work.

      I’ve only read through the haiku so far, but I noticed that your strong and very interesting commentary of Jim Kacian’s haiga is there . . . so congratulations to you too! And, thank you, again for rooting me on.

      Best, Margaret

  2. sanjuktaa says:

    Lovely tanka, Margaret! I share your views about AHG. Not only a great journal, but very easy to explore. Actually, i share your views about many other things…:-) More about it later!

  3. alee9 says:

    I love it, love how the voice in your tanka holds on to the very last drop drip of time…you’re up, up and up, mi hermana! So happy for you!

Leave a Reply

