A word (or two) about monostich . . .

 

giving voice to my night coyotes

Modern Haiku, vol. 43.1, Winter/Spring 2012

I’ve recently started trying my hand at monostich, or one-line haiku–the English-language version of the Japanese practice of writing haiku in one horizontal line across the page.  Some months ago I asked my friend Melissa Allen, a wonderful monostich writer, what makes for a good one-line haiku.  She referred me to some websites,  including her own Red Dragonfly, where she has several discussions on the subject (check out her examples from one of the form’s masters, Marlene Mountain).  A few months later, she and several other contemporary haiku poets began posting one-line haiku regularly on the eponymous Monosticha website dedicated to the form.  There are many other great resources you can explore easily through the internet.  Perhaps, like me, you’ll give it a try . . . .

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in English language haiku, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Modern Haiku, Monostitch, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A word (or two) about monostich . . .

  1. Sully says:

    Margaret, I like this one — quick and visceral and full of nature. Your instincts seem right on for monostitch. I am not sure coyotes have made it to the Boston Mountains, but they are here in Chicago. One startled me the other day. Good haiku.

    Sully

  2. This is a great one, Margaret. I love how you can read “night coyotes” as a single phrase as well as seeing coyotes as juxed with the rest. I think I might need to give voice to my night coyotes soon. 😉

    And thanks, of course, for the plugs for RD and Monostich. 🙂 (I have to get back over there…)

  3. Katy says:

    I just had to do a writing assignment for a monostich, something I have never heard of before despite writing almost all of my life. Anyways in searching your blog came up and I followed the linked you provided and just wanted to say thank you! The information, examples and readings were excellent! It was an absolute pleasure to read. Have a wonderful Holiday!
    Katy

    • Thank you, Katy! I’d love to know who you wrote the assignment for . . . and the results, if you care to share them!

      Best, Margaret

      • Katy says:

        Hi Margaret,
        I write for a small online group, that also publishes an online literary magazine. Every month we have different writing activity, writing stories of different genres that have word limits (not so easy when they tell you to write fantasy under 1000 words :), and specific poetry, or any type of creative writing exercise that is chosen that month. And then in addition to the pieces that are being published in the magazine, the best pieces are chosen to be published. It’s really fun, and a great way to expand your writing skills as a writer. Every once in a while they do a different, fun type of exercise. We had a week to write a monostich, and then the editors took the titles of the ones that we wrote and gave them to others in the group, so now we also have a week to write a monostich on their title. So it will be fun and interesting to see what we all come up with on each others’ titles. When I am done with the exercise I would be happy to show you mine, the one I received, and who got mine and what they wrote 🙂

        Also I am so glad I found your blog in searching for the monostich, There is so much to read and learn from here as well. I always enjoy a great blog that has anything to do with writing. Although it is not my career, it is my passion.

Leave a Reply

