Counting down . . .

End of year. Time to take stock. Look back. Look forward. Dig in. Dig out. Reflect . . . If you’re looking for a haiku-like way to do just that, two blogs I enjoy are offering unique end-of-year perspectives. 

At Aubrie Cox’s Yay Words!, she’s saying goodbye to the Year of the Rabbit and hello to the Year of the Dragon by hosting short-form poems and haiga about, what else, dragons (and water or fire).  You still have a couple of days left if you’d like to contribute; just visit her site for more information.   If you need inspiration, you might like to know that dragons–often maligned in the West–are considered to be not only powerful but wise in Eastern cultures.

Meanwhile, Sanjukta Asopa’s blog Wild Berries is counting down the 12 Days of Christmas in true haiku style by posting themed samplings of haiku she’s come across during the past year.  It’s a great way to pause. Reflect. Look back. Look forward. Dig in. Dig out. Well, you get it . . . don’t you?

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, New Year, Wild Berries, Winter, Yay Words! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Counting down . . .

  1. sanjuktaa says:

    Thanks for mentioning my blog, Margaret. I am so glad that you are enjoying it.Warm wishes and happy holidays to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

