After the festival . . .

in rain
the leaves appear even
more golden

I don’t get out much.  Most of the time, I don’t mind.  I work.  I write.  I read.  I look out my window.  But there comes a time when putting your traveling shoes on is a good–no, necessary–thing.  So when I was invited to attend a small weekend gathering of haiku poets in nearby Hot Springs, I jumped at the chance to meet other people who enjoy the challenge of condensing their thoughts and emotions into three little lines.

Having just returned from Haiku Hot Springs, I feel much the same way I used to feel as a child after attending a piano recital: rejuvenated; inspired; ready to practice my scales more diligently.  What a pleasure to put faces to the names I’ve previously encountered through virtual space or the written page.  And what a joy to hear two of my haiku heroes (Charles Trumbull, Roberta Beary) bring their words to life . . . .  Not to mention that their impromptu reading took place on a pontoon boat ride where we were privileged to sight a bald eagle peering down on us from a native pine. 

Such good karma does not go unnoticed.  So thank you, Howard Kilby, for pushing me out of my nest and into the world of the haiku gathering.  What a great world to be in . . . even now, as I sit back and watch the fall leaves in the rain.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Autumn, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Leaves, Rain, Trees and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After the festival . . .

  1. Cara Holman says:

    I’m so glad you had a good time, Margaret!

  2. sanjuktaa says:

    Frankly, feeling a little envious of you 🙂 Wish there were such conferences in India, too! Glad that you enjoyed yourself!

Leave a Reply

