Autumn confessional . . .

blind alley . . .
she takes a turn
for the worse
          Modern Haiku, vol. 42.3, Autumn 2011

Confession #1:  Not all haiku/senryū are strictly autobiographical.  Confession #2:  I sometimes live in my head.  Confession #3:  I like living there.  Confession #4:  I haven’t yet sent off for a subscription to Modern Haiku.  Confession #5:  I’m planning to . . . soon.  Confession #6:  I’m no less thrilled to have my semi-autobiographical, living-in-my-head, confessional senryū featured among the works of other possibly semi-autobiographical living-in-his/her-head haiku poets like my friend, mentor, and ku-buddy Melissa Allen.  Confession #7:  I’ll be hitting the link button to view my semi-autobiographical confessional senryū on the sample page for the current issue of Modern Haiku many more times today.  Confession #8:  I’d like to have you join me for a cyberspace sneak peek.  Confession #9:  I’m salivating in anticipation of reading the entire print issue . . . soon!

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Autumn, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Melissa Allen, Modern Haiku, Senryu and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn confessional . . .

  1. sanjuktaa says:

    I love this…both the haiku and the write! And i feel the same way about your confessions, at least the first three.By the way, when is the next submission date for Modern haiku? Would like to try my luck there. And congrats, Margaret, for all your publications. I also did love your haiku in NFTG…the “summer romance”.

  2. Thank you, Sanjuktaa! I’m very excited and honored to appear in Modern Haiku. The next deadline, by the way, is Nov. 15, for the Winter/Spring issue . . . . Thanks also for your comment about “summer romance”; I posted it originally on the NaHaiWri site, where I had a good response to it. Wasn’t your Gean poem posted there as well? I seem to remember it . . . . I like it very much.

    Best, Margaret

  3. Eric says:

    I think all poets – haiku and/or otherwise – write non-auto-bigraphical pieces. After all, one way to grow is to allow ourselves to explore the feeling we find from the situations of others.

  4. Van says:

    I like your haiku, etc., Margaret. If I haven’t been commenting it is because I have been busy with lots of other things of late.
    Congratulations on the successes.
    Have you met your new colleague, Ashley McHugh?

Leave a Reply

