And the winner is . . .

moonbathing . . .
her old garden hat shines
a little brighter

At 12: 01 a.m. –just after my birthday celebration officially concluded–I asked my husband to draw a name out of my garden hat so that I might give away a year’s subscription to Moonbathing: A Journal of Women’s Tanka to one of my readers.  (I wish I could give a subscription to everyone who entered my birthday giveaway, but, alas, I too am a starving artist.)   At any rate, my husband gave the hat a good shake, said a few indistinguishable words over it, and, (almost) magically, pulled out one of 12 slips of paper. 

Congratulations to Terri Hale French.  I’m delighted to tell you that your subscription to Moonbathing is a fait accompli.  Enjoy!

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Birthday, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Moonbathing, Tanka and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And the winner is . . .

  1. Congratulations, Terri!

  2. Alegria Imperial says:

    Terri! Congratulations!

    That was really fun, mi hermana! Wishing you the best of your wishes on the first day after your birthday.

  3. very cool Margaret. and what Alegria said, way fun. you’ve made birthdays bright year round. very fun ku to go along with your first-day-after birthday too.

    • Thanks, Wrick! It was fun for me as well. I may have to make this a birthday tradition! It was great getting to see all the cool ku (and cards) people sent me. BTW, I’m so enjoying seeing your work posted on Melissa’s blog on a regular basis. Hope you’re having a good and fun-filled summer at the beach. Wish I was there with you and the waves! Best, Margaret

      • aloha Margaret – i’m not sure if i’ve said this to you or not… i know i mention it at times. sometimes on my birthday i give gifts. because i figure, hey, it’s MY birthday, i get to do what i want, right? and the thing is, it makes my birthday way fun to do that.

        you’ve done the same thing in a novel way, and i like that too. i think it’s a great idea whether you do it every year as tradition or not.

        thanks on the images with Melissa’s words – i think her words elevate my artwork in unexpected ways. and i like that too.

        i havnt gotten to the beach yet this summer. i’m carless at the moment. and it’s a good walk (55 – 65 minutes one way – a 7-10 minute drive). but i have to walk other good walks to get things too, so i’ve been focusing on those walks. the upside, which i really like, is that i am walking more AND it’s my opportunity to work on the concrete fossil stuff – which i’m having a great time with too. so even if i’m not getting to the beach… which is probably way crowded more than would be my preferences this time of year – i am having a great summer. …not to mention the ipad drawing/painting apps. it feels like i have a lot going on – which is often the case – but it feels like it’s coming together too. so cool on that.

        cool on your mountains as well, i peeked through some of your husband’s blog. i like the focus you two aim toward. cool on that. aloha

        • Hey, Wrick. I’m glad you’re having good walks . . . whether on the beach or not. Your ipad drawings are amazing, and it’s neat that you are collaborating with Melissa. Thanks, also, for visiting Larry’s site. He got a kick out of you stopping by . . .

Leave a Reply

