Nuclear spring . . .

My first two published haiku!  Thank you, Notes from the Gean!

nuclear spring–
monitoring which way
the wind blows

banks of azaleas
captured on Fujichrome
the rite of spring

Notes from the Gean, June 2011, vol. 3, #1

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Japan, Spring, Wind and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Nuclear spring . . .

  1. angie says:

    congratulations!
    they are both vivid and timely.
    😀

    • Thank you, Angie. I’m excited. In addition to being my first venue for published haiku, I have a tanka in this issue as well, so I’m quite pleased. Thanks for taking the time to wish me well. Best, Margaret

  2. Cara Holman says:

    Congratulations, Margaret! It was fun to see so many names that I recognized from NaHaiWriMo.

    • Thank you so much, Cara! Congratulations to you, too! I always admire your poems, and how you construct them in such a seamless way.

      And, yes, it is fun to see the poems of so many poets you’ve communed with in cyberspace in print beside your own. I can’t wait to study the ku published in this issue of the Gean and have a chance to absorb them more thoroughly.

  3. aloha Margaret – yeah, i repeat – wow. and congratulations too. i like both of these. i find the first ku – that one – is a double wow – it is exceptional (imo). outstanding. aloha.

  4. Sully says:

    Very finely crafted, Margaret. I like both and every May I take pictures of my little backyard bank of azaleas. I enjoy your blog and your writing journey.

    Sully

  5. alee9 says:

    Late but not closed out on, am I? I can’t express enough how happy I am for you, mi amada hermana! These are truly excellent haiku, of course! You’ve worked on this journey and it has honed your writing into what apparently comes natural for you. I’m certain that more and more will be coming. Congratulations!

    • Mil gracias, hermana de mi alma! Thank you so much, again, for being such a good and true friend and support system. I am also so pleased to see your recent ku in this issue of The Heron’s Nest. You have, as I’ve said before, such a naturally poetic voice. I’m always pleased for you as well. Best, Margaret

Leave a Reply

