A garden of tanka . . .

in the loud silence
of wind and birdsong, I sow
forget-me-not seeds
from a small paper packet
filled with our love’s story
                           Lynx XXVI:2, June 2011

I’m never happier than when I’m in my garden . . . unless, of course, I’m writing about being there.  Featured in the current issue of  Lynx (a journal dedicated to “linking” poems at Jane and Werner Reichhold’s AHA Poetry site), in the loud silence is a series of three tanka that I’ve written about woodland gardening. 

I’d like to thank the Reichholds for including my series in their garden of words.  I am deeply honored.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in AHA Poetry, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Lynx, Spring, Tanka, Wind, Woods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A garden of tanka . . .

  1. Congratulations, Margaret. Your tanka sequence is excellent, earning a well deserved place in Lynx. I look forward to reading more of your tanka. I find it a very rewarding form to play with.
    Cheers, Kirsten
    http://kirstencliffwrites.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks, Kirsten! And thanks for stopping by! I’ve only been writing tanka for about six months, but I really like the form as well. I think one reason is because it utilizes the haiku form but allows you to incorpoate similes and metaphors as well . . .
      Best, Margaret

  2. Yes, I’ve only been writing tanka for just over a year now and am really enjoying the freedom of movement and emotional expression within the form. Haiku will probably always be my ‘go to’ poetic form, but tanka is a very close second these days!

  3. alee9 says:

    Wow! Mi hermana, you’re on a roll and I’m absolutely proud to be your sister! Love your tanka, really–it’s your voice and it’s lovely.

    • Gracias, hermana! Yes, tanka has really taken off for me. Very happy about that. And I’ve got some haiku coming out soon too! Incidentally, I’m proud to be your sister, too!

  4. Sully says:

    Charming, Margaret, most charming. I sometimes take things too literal, so I have to do a big jump with the forget-me-not seeds.

    Sully

Leave a Reply

