After shock, the healing . . .

from haiku scribblings
to a prayer
on a giant wave
                    –Alegria Imperial, jornales

The recent earthquake and tsunami in Japan, with all its aftershocks–nuclear and otherwise–has the world, especially the haiku world, reeling.   Obviously, as the birthplace of haiku, Japan has a special place in the hearts of all haijin, whether they’ve had the opportunity to visit there . . . or simply know it through its literature and art.  Many haiku poets, like my friend Alegria Imperial (who wrote the haiku I opened this post with), have been offering up their voices through the medium they love as a response to Japan’s tragedy.  It’s no wonder, then, that the editors of Simply Haiku, Robert D. Wilson and Sasa Vozic, have made plans to gather survivor stories and tributes in an anthology called We are all Japan, aimed at helping the people of Japan as they face continued challenges in the weeks and months ahead.  To donate, either financially or through the shared telling of stories, visit the We are all Japan website for more information.

a shared umbrella
prayers of hope becoming
full moon mantras

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Earthquake, Full moon, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Japan, Tsunami and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to After shock, the healing . . .

  1. foamfish says:

    Please include a listing to http://lousymirror.blogspot.com
    I am uploading over 3 decades of my poetry and haiga art.
    Warmly,

    Robert D. Wilson

    • Dear Robert,
      I absolutely will include a link to your site on my blogroll. Thank you for visiting mine! I wish you the best of luck with the Japan anthology, and thank you for your commitment to the world of haiku.
      Best, Margaret

  2. alee9 says:

    I love your haiku, mi hermana. Mine was actually inspired by Melissa’s ‘haiku sribblings’ or should I say a take off? I’m still writing non-stop as my post today shows. As you know, so much holds Filipinos and Japanese in spirit. As a child born not long after that horrific second world war, I grew up with a pall of pain and sorrow hovering in my mother’s family. So much healing has happened since and for me, haiku has completed it! Thanks for the info on the site you gave here.

Leave a Reply

