Valentine visions . . .

in the snowdrifts . . .
the outline of two hearts

I live in the heartland.  We’re a little slower to take to things here.  While the rest of the country was being pummeled by winter blizzards earlier this winter, we sat back and watched and waited for our turn.  This week, the wait was over.  We got hit.  Hard.  More than two feet of snow in places.  Our forest here looks like something out of a Hollywood dreamscape.   Lovely.  But cold.  And so we continue to do what we do so well: sit back and wait for the temperatures to rise and our juices to flow again.  Good thing there’s something else to think about besides the weather . . . 

snowbound . . .
cupid’s arrow ricochets
toward spring

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Snow, Valentine's Day, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Valentine visions . . .

  1. yeah. both of those ku – the 2-liner and the 3-liner spot on Margret. a great combining of the season and the season of heart. i like that. stay warm and flowing.

    butterfly wings
    this cross country slope
    full of snow angels

  2. alee9 says:

    Both draw out great images and ‘moments’, Margaret! I like cupid’s arrow in the snow and the verb, ‘ricochets’–it gives a feeling of the arrow searching out for its target. It’s romantic, for me! And Cupid is synonymous to lightness, playfulness, too! Thanks for sharing both, mi hermana.

Leave a Reply

