Life-doodles (a.k.a. sketches; a.k.a. shasei) . . .

As a self-proclaimed word nerd, I take pleasure in playing word games.  And, as a haiku word nerd, there are plenty of opportunities for doing just that.  In addition to dropping in on my friend Rick Daddario’s 19 planets website for an occasional round of ku-me (and his new, visually driven ku-this), I’ve been hanging out in cyberspace with some folks over at The Haiku Foundation,  where I’ve recently been introduced to Shiki Shasei, a forum where you can submit 3-5 haiku “life sketches” based on what you observe at any particular moment in time.  While some (or all) of my shasei may not be brilliant (or, for that matter, haiku), the exercise is great fun . . . and an excellent way to focus on individual aspects of your day and environment–whatever that environment may be.  It’s like keeping a diary (which, I must admit, I was never good at doing) . . . only better!  Here, in a nutshell (a very small nutshell), are a few of my day’s shasei:

deconstructing art–
the sidewalk’s last chalkmark
a rain-soaked smear

brushing up on Spanish . . .
on the radio
the same sad love songs

password update:
running out of “secrets”
to answer

Okay, that’s enough true confessions from me.  You’re on your own shasei time now.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Life, Shasei and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life-doodles (a.k.a. sketches; a.k.a. shasei) . . .

  1. Oh my God. That last one is brilliant. I’ll be thinking about that all day. Really an amazing haiku, Margaret.

  2. alee9 says:

    ‘True confessions’, yes, I love all three, especially the second haiku–it could be mine. And like Melissa, I think the third one is brilliant! Thanks for sharing them, mi hermana. We should swap our shasei!

  3. oh wow. oh. aloha Margaret – yeah, you have been busy. …get over your cold before you do more busy, please. …me being my mom. sheesh. that happens sometimes.

    all three of these really connect up for me. in each i get a BING – Yeah. as they click into place. and all 3 so very different. i like what you said about the process and how it works (and thank you for the link up btw too) – as i read what you said, i thought about a couple of ku i had done a few days apart recently. i had noted that they both had a feel as if they came from the same moment and place – yet were different enough to be each individual. i liked that, but didnt even know there was a concept that it might fit into. …now… if i can get one more… oh. wait. better still… i should just do 3-5 from this moment – yes? cool. and fun. ty. …and get well!

    winter wind
    chilly on my legs as i sit
    in cut-offs

    island visitor
    from Alaska this winter
    a golden plover

    island winter
    brown avocado leaves
    in green grass

    hmmmm… thats not all from this moment. but from within the last 24 hours. would that count?

    fun. aloha

    • Aloha, Wrick! Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you like the shasei concept. It is great fun, and a good way to jump-start your ku. I love all of these, especially because they give such insight into (for me) a completely different world than mine. Oh to be in cut-offs (vs. long underwear!). Hey, but no whines here. Just residual sniffles. Cheers, Margaret

  4. Gabi Greve says:

    Hi Margaret,
    thanks for trying your hand at haiku !
    Shasei, sketching from nature … long live old Shiki.

    Pop in at the World Kigo Database for more inspiration!

    Gabi
    Newsletter WKD
    http://worldkigo2005.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

