Tanka time . . .

tea leaves
settling into shapes
I can’t believe
until I can see
our future clearly

               –issue #3, Moonbathing: A Journal of Women’s Tanka

I just received my copy of Pamela A. Babusci’s Moonbathing, which contains my first (above) published tanka.  I’m thrilled and humbled to have my work included in the journal, which showcases tanka by an amazing collection of women tanka poets, including: an’ya; Margaret Chula; Aubrie Cox; Patricia Lidia; Giselle Maya; Claudia C. Radmore; Kozue Uzawa; Joyce Wong; and Michele L. Harvey, a wonderful painter as well as a poet, who also won the journal’s contest for her tanka on moonbathing

In all, 52 poets and poems (three to a page) appear in this slim volume filled with tanka on a diversity of topics ranging from manicures and pedicures to graveside visits to love and loneliness.  For Pamela–a tanka poet herself–putting out a bi-annual journal that showcases other women tanka poets is an act of enormous generosity as well as a labor of love.  Thank you, Pamela.

To learn more about subscribing and/or submitting to Moonbathing, you can contact Pamela via e-mail at moongate44@gmail.com.  

  

 

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Moonbathing, Tanka and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tanka time . . .

  1. Congratulations, Margaret — I love this tanka! I have been writing tons of them myself lately, in fact I’m having trouble writing haiku because my mind seems to have settled into a tanka pattern. 🙂 I think I’m going to do a post on them sometime soon, you know, as soon as I figure out what they actually are. (Maybe I should have done that before I started writing them? Nahhhhh….)

    Anyway, I think I really need to go subscribe to “Moonbathing” now and make sure they start my subscription with the latest issue. 🙂 Congrats again.

    • Thanks, Melissa! I really like the form, and I’m thrilled to have my first one “out there.” I’m glad you’re a convert! Do you think you could also do a post soon on “one-liners”? I’m intrigued, but have no idea what makes for a good one. Best, M.

      • Well, I’m not sure either in any way I can express coherently what makes for a good one-line haiku — it seems to be something I have more of an instinct for, sometimes it just looks or feels right for the ku to be one line rather than three or two or four. The closest I’ve come to writing about this is here:
        http://haikuproject.wordpress.com/2010/08/01/august-1-1-3-three-of-one/
        where mostly I just give links to other people talking more coherently about it and saying way more intelligent things than I could say at this point. I suppose I should really think about this more and develop more of a theory of my own.

        I have to say that quite often often when I have haiku writer’s block, just forcing myself to jot down haiku-like things (don’t have to be any good) in one line gets me out of it. Something about having to worry about the line breaks on top of image clarity and word choice and everything else you have to worry about in haiku just adds that little bit too much pressure, I guess. Sometimes these exercises stay one line and sometimes they end up getting rewritten into three and sometimes (most often) they just get thrown away, but that can be one way of getting yourself thinking in one line. Good luck!

        • Thanks, Melissa. I’ll look up that post soon. I’ve been trying to read other one-line haiku to see if there’s a difference . . . it seems, in many, that you can break the line in multiple ways for multiple readings. This is as close to clarity as I’ve gotten on the subject of one vs. three lines. Your one lines have been wonderful. By the way, congratulations on your haiku series acceptance!

          Best, M.

  2. Kate the Great says:

    So proud of you, my lovely friend!

  3. alee9 says:

    Proudest of them all, that’s me for mi hermana! Congratulations, Margaret! A lovely tanka that tells so much of you…

Leave a Reply

