Cuckoo for kukai . . .

pocket calendar–
filling in the blank spaces
of her memory

         4th place tie, Caribbean kigo kukai

A kukai is a peer-reviewed contest, where participants submit haiku using a shared kigo or season word (in this case, “calendar”) for anonymous judging.  I’ve submitted haiku to two other kukai contests during the past few months, but this is the first time I’ve entered Gillena Cox’s Caribbean Kigo Kukai.  It’s not only fun to test your response to a haiku prompt but the contests allow you to read a range of work from people writing haiku in all parts of the world.  Gillena, for example, posts haiku on her blog Lunch Break from her St. James home in Trinidad and Tobago.  It’s fascinating to see the differences and similarities that occur when kukai participants put pen to paper on a shared subject.  And kukai is a great way to connect with and receive feedback from other haiku enthusiasts. 

Thank you, Gillena, for taking the time and effort to host your Caribbean kukai.  I’m honored to be a part of your world!

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Calendar, Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Kukai, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cuckoo for kukai . . .

  1. Van Brock says:

    Congratulations.
    Two more lines would qualify it perfectly for My Sister’s World..

  2. alee9 says:

    Congratulations! Your haiku harvest has started, mi hermana! This too, has terrific possibilites for a tanka. Keep on!

  3. alee9 says:

    Because this post has the word ‘kukai’ in it, I’m back to congratulate you on your voted haiku in the just posted January 2011 Shiki kukai! I believe I voted on them both.

    You’ve got it, mi hermana!

    • Thank you, mi hermana! There were so so so many haiku in that kigo. It’s getting more difficult to vote with just 6 points to go around. But, hey, I’m encouraged. And I just got word of an acceptance of two of my tanka, so this is a good day! Mil gracias, amiga. It’s wonderful to have your lovely voice in my life!

  4. Alegria and I were thinking along the same lines … congratulations on both the CKK and Shiki Kukai results this month! All were lovely haiku. And yes, I too thought the competition was especially strong this month — I normally don’t really have a problem narrowing down my choices but I made some agonizing calls this time to get it down to 6.

    And all these tanka acceptances too! So exciting! Where will this latest batch be published? Can’t wait to see them. (I’ve just sent in my subscription to “Moonbathing” so I can see your and all my other friends’ tanka published … someday I’ll figure out how to write them myself. 🙂 )

    • Aw . . . thanks, Melissa. I’m feeling a bit down this morning, so your message is much appreciated. The Shiki Kukai is getting so big that I suppose getting any votes at all is a coup. But really, as we’ve said before and what I keep reminding myself, it’s the process . . . One of these days, though, I might even get a haiku published! In the meantime, my tanka is taking off. Perhaps that’s my form? I did get two accepted for the Spring issue of TSA’s “Ribbons,” and I am thrilled! One is a playful riff on Basho’s pond! I wish I could get my frog haiga published somewhere. I love him! Thanks, friend, for your encouragement. Now I’m off to school. Ugh! Another blast of winter on its way today!

Leave a Reply

