The Milky Way . . .

I was born in summer.  I’m not a big fan of winter.  I don’t like wearing shoes and socks. And I don’t much care for coats.  But when I start to feel really sorry for myself for having to endure the cold and wrap myself up in extra layers that make me feel way too encumbered, all I have to do is look up.  The winter sky is, for me, the best of the season’s offerings.  And, right now, the Milky Way is passing through the Winter Circle–a group of stars that moves from east to west, traversing one side of the horizon to the other until it’s visited every part of the sky.  And that, I remind myself, is worth the small effort it takes to button myself up and venture on outside.

the winter circle:
allemande left, now right
right ’round the way

above the well house–
a river of stars flowers
my winter sky

skylit room . . .
she dreams of lost love,
the milky way, the moon

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Milky Way, Sky, Winter, Winter Circle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Milky Way . . .

  1. star islands
    in the deep black sea
    winter sky

  2. alee9 says:

    Margaret, thank you for always putting out images and opening a space to share! I love all three of your haiku but especially the “river of stars”.

    I’ve always been a star gazer myself. Skies in the Philippines seem more perforated to me than Baltimore or NY where I used to live half of the year before I came to live in Vancouver. I’ve explained this away when I began to so realize from a brief lecture of my late husband who was himself a sky watcher–a country’s or island’s position in the equator determines how much of the sky is visible. True, I suppose or how can this be explained–an island in southern Luzon (of the 7,100 islands in the Philippines) is named “Bulalakaw” (shooting star) for the most frequent skidding star (shooting) ever.

    News of the meteor shower has left me downcast though because it won’t be visible here in Vancouver. The skies, too, for the past weeks have been hovering like tired grey poems. Once in a while I would glance a break in the clouds as in one evening when there was the half moon drifting in and out like a droopy eye. Yet, some nights as when this haiku wrote itself, it can be:

    winter sky—
    so deep, so punctured
    so sparkling

    Thanks again.

    • Alegria, as always, your voice is welcome. I love your prose as much as your poetry; in addition to the great information you offer (your insights into another world so foreign to my own), the way in which you offer that information is nothing short of poetic. Tonight is my night to see a myriad of meteors . . . . I can feel it, mi hermana.

Leave a Reply

