Circling my night sky . . .

In response to my last post, diarist Rachel Dickinson extended the exquisite corpse tradition by using the last line of my haiku to create this lovely one of her own:

Circling my night sky
are bats and nighthawks snatching
winged insects in flight.

night sky

Night Sky by Ha-Wee via Flickr 

Coincidentally (is there really such a thing?), I had just read Rachel’s response and was on my way to teach a class when a swarm of small, green insects rose from the grass surrounding the sidewalk and engulfed me in their winged journey.  Do I need any other excuse to keep the e.c. flying?  I don’t think so. . . .  All right, then.  Here goes:

Winged insects in flight:
a swarm of green messengers
signals–what?  Oh. . . .  Life. 

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Circling my night sky . . .

  1. Van K. Brock says:

    No exquisite corpse–
    witnessed in dawn’s crescendo
    over a dark cave.

    Old bats dive toward sleep
    while the young, on ecstasy,
    dare the burning light.

  2. alegria says:

    To yours:

    signals what? Oh…Life–
    the soughing wind imitates
    insects circling the light
    –jornales

  3. …and another:

    signals–what? Oh. . . . Life.
    three hundred car engines idle
    red. yellow. green!

    (aloha Margaret – thanks for playing in my ku-me chain.)

  4. aloha Margaret – post-modern… is that where this ku is settling? cool. Melissa’s blog has me pushing the fringed and narrow edge of what i think ku is. i like that. sometimes i find i’m way out of my norm. again. i like that too.

    i also like the idea of interlinking ku with others. that has planetary possibilities in a way that has only come into being with the web (imo). cool on that as well…

    signals–what? Oh. . . . Life.
    this web encircled word planet
    the haiku mind

    • Post-modern. Definitely. I love this second ku, Rick; it illustrates something that I’ve been thinking about as well: how, with the net, there is an interplay of words and support between haiku-ers that didn’t exist before. Bravo! Hope you’ll respond to my next post (tomorrow)–it’s dealing with visual art–right up your aloha alley.

Leave a Reply

