Nothing more . . .

Nothing more

remains of the house her father built close—too close—to the tracks. Not the wrap-around-porch where she and her sisters perched like a charm of songbirds. Not the wooden swing hung from the porch ceiling. Or the morning glories that climbed the whitewashed columns.

Neither is there a sign of the plot her mother tended, coaxing harvests of turnips and tomatoes and okra from the red dirt clay. Nor of the chickens that ranged there, beloved as the most beloved, until they were called one by one to grace another table. Nowhere the steady hum of her sisters’ many voices: laughing, crying, whispering, sighing their way through hardscrabble winters and white-hot Oklahoma nights.

homecoming . . .
the high lonesome sound
of a passing train

Contemporary Haibun Online 1o:2, July 2014

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Contemporary Haibun Online, Family, Haibun, Haiku, Haiku-doodle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nothing more . . .

  1. …well done my wonderful wife…once again your words become vivid visuals, giving the actions a movie quality…

  2. Mary says:

    So beautiful – love your sense of place and family. This really resonates with me. And I read your other CHO haibun titled “Throwback” – also amazing, very moving.
    Mary

Leave a Reply

