Summer storms . . .

all around us
the violence of last night’s storm
unpredictable
as the bouquet of roses
you lay down beside me
               Simply Haiku, vol. 9, #2,  Summer 2011

I’m honored to be a small part of an exceptional, 8th anniversary issue of the online journal Simply Haiku.  And doubly pleased to see so many familiar voices there alongside mine.  If you haven’t read this issue yet, what are you waiting for?

Still need more to read this summer?  Check out Red Dragonfly’s mushroom ku-fest . . . where Melissa Allen has posted a plethora of mushroom-inspired haiku and haiga.  Very tasty.

About Margaret Dornaus

I’m a writer and a teacher, as well as a haiku-doodler. I live in a beautiful woodland setting, surrounded by native oak forests, that inspires me to record haiku snapshots of luna moths and our resident roadrunner, and even an occasional black bear as it hightails it across the top of my road, my mongrel dog barking at its heels as I watch with wonder. My work as a travel writer has appeared in publications from The Dallas Morning News to the Robb Report. You can find examples of my travel writing–as well as excerpts from a travel memoir I’m working on–at my other WordPress site, Travelin’ On. What more than that do you need to know? Only that I started this blog with an eye toward collaboration. Got a haiku? Send it my way. . . . I’m all about new visions & voices. Best, Margaret
This entry was posted in Haiku, Haiku-doodle, Simply Haiku, Summer, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer storms . . .

  1. Terrific tanka, hermana! Congratulations, again, in this long string of published works that gets longer and longer…

Leave a comment